Welcome to Fife uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn More

Return to Welcome to Fife Culross


The Royal Burgh of Culross is a town that time has passed by. It is the most complete example in Scotland today of a Burgh of the 17th and 18th centuries. The Town House was built in 1626 and was the administrative centre of Culross with a tollbooth and witches' prison. The old buildings and cobbled streets create a fascinating time warp for visitors.

The palace "Great Lodging", was constructed between 1597 and 1611 by Sir George Bruce, the Laird of Carnock. Many of the materials used in the construction of the palace were obtained during the course of Bruce's foreign trade. Baltic pine, red pantiles, and Dutch floor tiles and glass were all used. The exterior boasts the use of crow-stepped gables, including a statue of a veiled woman posing on the gable step. The palace features fine interiors, with decorative mural and ceiling painting, 17th and 18th century furniture and a fine collection of Staffordshire and Scottish pottery.

Fans of the Outlander TV series will recognise several places in Culross which has been used extensively for filming.

The National Trust for Scotland Properties are open from the end of March to end of October

Visit Culross
Sign up for latest offers and news