The white-harled, step-gabled, pantile-roofed cottages in West Wemyss and East Wemyss, and the newer but still traditional cottages in Coaltown of Wemyss, were once coal miners’ homes, while nearby Wemyss Castle has been the home of the Wemyss family since the 12th century.
The famous Wemyss Caves have over 50 Pictish carvings etched into their walls and guided tours are available at the Save Wemyss Ancient Caves Society Museum in East Wemyss.
For almost 150 years, Coaltown of Wemyss has been home to Wemyss School of Needlework. Established in 1877 by Dora Wemyss to teach local girls a wage-earning skill, today, Fiona Wemyss is the latest member of the Wemyss family to look after the school.
West Wemyss Harbour was formerly used by boats transporting coal and salt and is now a popular mooring for pleasure craft. Find out more about this picturesque corner of area at Auld Wemyss Ways heritage centre in West Wemyss.
A hub for enthusiasts and budding creatives with an eye for historic intrigue in a contemporary world.