14 miles or 22.5 km
Click here for a map of the route
Like all the sections of the Fife Coastal Path this can be cut into shorter walks.
Starting at Burntisland, this section of the Fife Coastal Path winds its way to Buckhaven over a 14 mile (22.5 km) route which includes historic towns, botanically important coastal grasslands and much of geological interest. Allow 5 - 6 hours.
This section of the Coastal Path begins at the Beacon Leisure Centre, Burntisland and takes you through historic towns, important grasslands and much of historical and geographical interest.
In Kinghorn,the path follows the main road past a monument where, in 1286, Alexander III fell to his death. Kinghorn, a Royal Burgh for over 800 years, is a popular resort. Until the 17th Century, witches were burned on ‘Witches Hill’, the prominent crag overlooking Pettycur Bay, a lovely golden cove and popular holiday spot.
Lava flows are a feature of this coast, a reminder of an eruption of The Binn volcano 300 million years ago.
On the outskirts of Kirkcaldy the path passes the 16th Century Seafield Tower and the remains of an uncompleted deep water harbour dating from 1889. The area is rich in birdlife, and seals are often seen on the rocks.
From here the path winds steeply to Pathhead, a location which features in several of John Buchan’s novels, and Ravenscraig Castle (1460), built by James II for his wife Mary of Guelders.
Ravenscraig Park features a 16th Century beehive doocot and the “Sailor’s Walk” perched high above Dysart harbour. The Harbourmaster’ House, Fife’s first Coastal Centre, bistro, and headquarters of Fife Coast and Countryside Trust is located at the harbour and are is great place to visit for Fife Coastal Path users, with lots of useful information on the path and Fife's coast.
The Royal Burgh of Dysart dates from the beginning of Christianity in Scotland through its association with St Serf, the 7th Century missionary.
The 13th Century St Serf’s Tower dominates the shore with its restored Pan Ha’ red roofed cottages. From Dysart, the path skirts the iconic headframe of the Francis Colliery, testament to the former importance of the coal industry in the area, and climbs over Blair Point to a walled chapel garden, the private burial ground of the Wemyss family.
West Wemyss was once one of the most important ports in Fife, trading in coal and salt with the Continent and the village and harbour have been extensively restored. The path passes 14th Century Wemyss Castle and MacDuff Castle which is linked to the Thane of Fife, MacBeth's slayer.
This section of the path ends in Buckhaven where the former fishing village has an interesting musem detailing it's vibrant history.
For more information on the Coastal Path, the Fife Coastal Path Official Guide and Map are available for to purchase from Harbourmaster’s House (01592 656080). The map can also be purchased on Amazon.
This section of the path is 14 miles or 22.5km. Click here to see a map of the route.