Welcome to Fife uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn More


Please complete the form below to make an enquiry, one of the team will aim to reply as soon as possible

Crail Golfing Society, Balcomie Links & Craighead Golf Course



Crail Golfing Society


KY10 3XN




Crail Golfing Society is set on the easternmost edge of the Kingdom of Fife, just 12 miles from St Andrews and the Home of Golf. Founded in 1786 the club dates back to the very origins of the game. While no two rounds of golf at Crail are ever the same, you will always be welcomed with the same special brand of Scottish hospitality.


A combination of stunning coastal views, centuries of history and hugely enjoyable golf makes Balcomie Links one of Scotlands golfing gems.

This traditional links course was laid out by Old Tom Morris and opened in 1895. Created around the natural contours of the land, Balcomie has the unusual combination of three par five, six par three and nine par four holes, producing a tough par of 69. Extraordinary holes abound, along with those which seriously challenge and those which are more comfortable. The sum total is a layout which both enchants and delights, but which also demands and punishes, testing all the skills and nerve of the golfer. Big hitters who believe Balcomie will be easy, do so at their peril


With spectacular views - the sea is visible from every hole - Craighead Links achieved fame in the 2001 Guinness Book of Records for the most nationalities playing in an international tournament.

This challenging, cliff-top course was designed by world-renowned golf course architect Gil Hanse to provide golfers with a true test of their skills in a links environment. Built in the style of a traditional links course - with no trees protecting golf shots from the wind - Craighead provides panoramic views of up to 100 miles, in addition to legally protected Sites of Special Scientific Interest and a World War I defence post. The course features Danes Dyke, a 1200 year old defensive wall built by Viking marauders to keep out the local Pictish tribes and which comes into play on four holes. The course was opened in 1998 and achieved almost immediate recognition when the R&A held the World Junior Open there in 2000. The recognition of its quality has continued, with the Scotland v Spain International hosted there in 2006 and the Seniors Home Internationals in 2010.

map location

Keep it local

Sign up for latest offers and news